Older and…wiser…?

Eight years ago, on my champagne birthday, I made a promise to myself to do one “crazy” thing every year, usually on or around my birthday.  It could’ve been something on my bucket list or just something that forced me to step outside of my comfort zone.  That was the year I did my first jump course and flailed out of a plane solo.  Don’t worry.  I had a parachute…which – by the way – I totally recommend…both wearing a parachute and jumping out of a plane.

In the years to come…

  • I jumped off a bridge with Whistler Bungee.  Apparently jumping out or off of things was an initial theme…
  • I took a solo trip to Newfoundland.  And while for anyone else, this might seem normal, I find it unbelievably uncomfortable to do things like travel, eat in restaurants, go to a bar, etc. by myself.
  • I entered a CrossFit competition without knowing what the hell CrossFit even was.  I also wasn’t able to lift my arms above my head for a good two weeks afterwards.
  • I drove a fire truck.  Technically it wasn’t legal.  My bad.

Then at some point, I stopped.  I crawled into the deep, dark little hole of my daily routine.  I got set in my ways and stuck in my comfort zone.

Perhaps this year was the time to change that.  On September 25, Marc and I ran the Spartan (Sprint) Race at Sun Peaks.  People typically train for races like this.  We did not.  It was amazingly gross (the mud was mixed with cow patties because they pasture there) and grossly amazing.

Things that I was so sure I would fail at, I didn’t.  I even hit the hay with my spear…it didn’t stick and I still had to 30 burpees, but I hit the hay!

image1

Modelling our sweet participation medals.

8 km (2 of which were straight up a ski hill), 23 obstacles, and 95 burpees later (I failed at 3 obstacles – 30 burpees each – but Marc took 10 of my burpees in exchange for me doing 15 of his…apparently I pulled the short straw with the math), we were tired and muddy, yet satisfied.

Usually I’m not a huge fan of anything that awards an “Everybody Wins” participation medal, but damn it, I gladly took this one.  It was not important to be “first”, “fastest”, “fittest”…it was important for me to challenge myself to do something “crazy” again.

But did you die?

Yes.  Yes, I did.  And it was awesome.

 

Old enough to know better, young enough to do it anyway.  Live forever (32 years) young.

 

 

~ by yomisskang on September 29, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
