There is always something to be thankful for…

The title of this blog is actually a quote from my speech to the CSS grad class this year.  Time to take a little of my own advice!be-grateful3.png

Thanks to all of you who sent me good luck before the show and congratulations after. It was a great weekend! I was (almost) totally satisfied with my new routine that I was able to pull off despite not being able to lift my right hand above my head or do a push-up until about 3 weeks out. I still have a lot of work to do before Nationals, but that’s what the next 4 weeks 4.5 days is for. But, hey, who’s counting?

A few things I have to get off my chest before the training re-begins…

On the business end of things, I need to give a shout out to IFBB Fitness Pro Caitlin Bailie for helping me put together my routine! I had to move some stuff out and around when I was injured, but she lit the spark for the choreography and gave me some challenging things to work on so that maybe when I grow up, I can be just like her.

Also I want to praise the design and sewing skills of Jaclyn Wilson, head cheese of JWCouture in Fredericton, New Brunswick. She made me an awesome routine outfit and FAST! I am always impressed with people that can sew custom suits because I have a difficult time patching Marc’s pants and stitching on buttons without getting knots in the thread. It’s sad really. Check her out here: http://www.jwcouture.ca/

To the handful of super supportive friends that don’t give me a hard time when I have to eat exactly 110 g of white fish and ¼ cup of rice while they eat cake…and don’t laugh at me when I’m up at 4 a.m. to do cardio…and – most importantly – understand the difference between hangry Kang and just-pissed-off-because-people-are-stupid Kang. You are the bestest!

On to the bigger thank-you’s…

I have the greatest trainer of all time: DAWN ALISON. Despite also training for her own nationals in bodybuilding (in which she is going to kick ass!!!), she gives me and the rest of her athletes, like, a MILLION percent effort and expertise. And yes, they let me teach math.

IMG_0205

 

Even after what seemed like the LONGEST NIGHT EVER (waiting 6 hours just to do the night-show fitness routines…first-world problems, I know!)…Even though she had cardio to do and her hubby/Fitbody co-torturer/jack-of-all-trades/human-insane-at-everything had to compete in a whole whack of categories first thing in the a.m….Even when she was surely tired and hungry and had to get up in 3 hours to train and get her team ready, she (they) stayed to watch me. That is devotion to the sport. That is devotion to her FitBody team. That is Dawn Alison. And that is why we love her.

 

Last but certainly not least, M., who continues to stands by me through the days akin to the peach pie meltdown, and this time even did a contest prep (but without the end contest)….just to see if he could push his own body…just so he could understand what it’s like. I call that crazy.

This prep, we were living apart, trying to sell a house, trying to make arrangements to move while managing two households, and (stupidly?) taking on another dog. Despite all of this, he was still patient when I was not and level-headed when I was REALLY not. This is the man that I get to marry next June. Hot as a teapot. Ladies, eat your hearts out.

IMG_0196

Nationals on August 13th!  Here we go again!

 

 

 

 

 

~ by yomisskang on July 12, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
