Run, Kang, Run

During this contest prep, I began running again. I never thought I’d see the day when I actually enjoyed running again. When I was going to school in Fredericton, I started running because it seemed like the healthy thing to do. I kept running because it made me look good (I’m vain, I know). Then Depot happened and Sgt. Leblanc killed any love of running I might have had. (Really, did he have to yell that much?)

Since then – and now that I’ve started running again – I’ve learned a lot about running and what can make it great (at least for me).

  1. Know where you’re going. Last weekend, I went running in Valemount. Usually when I run in unfamiliar areas, I do half of my run-time, then turn around and follow my route back. M. showed me the route on his phone and I figured I could hack it. Then I got lost (ok, I also avoided this dirt road because I was wearing white shoes)…and the planned 9-km run became a considerably longer 12 km.
  1. When you don’t know where you’re going, it helps if it’s beautiful out.

photo 2-1

   Enough said.

  1. There is always time to find something fun(ny) on a run. Like Valemount road signs.

photo 3-1

I laughed when I saw this…and then I remembered that lady in Quebec that stopped to help the ducks cross the road and caused two fatalities. That’s probably why they put this sign up.

  1. The “Run, Forrest, run” cat-calls have never been, nor will they ever be, funny. (That one was for those of you that yell this at me when I’m running…)
  1. Nothing beats a good playlist…especially when the songs shuffle in a perfect order for a run.  It’s like the stars aligned, synced up with my iPod, and put all the songs in just the right order for that particular run.  A thing of beauty.
  1. It doesn’t matter how fast you’re running as long as you’re out there givin’er.   Sometimes I’m running like I stole something. Other days, I literally cry while I’m on the treadmill (I reserve these moments for when the gym is empty at 3:45 a.m.).  It doesn’t matter.

d9a391c2a315969d9b2dc5daad0335a4

And last but not least…

  1. Always take care of your body…you only have one. A sad realization has come over me in the last few months. My body is getting old(er). If I don’t stretch, roll, and recover, I start to fall apart rather quickly. On the bright side, I’m learning a lot about my pain tolerance from my massage therapist.

 However you run…for whatever reasons you run…just remember….

19a02c98c24f9169debc7128972929d3

~ by yomisskang on June 13, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
