When life gives you lemons, go do (another) leg workout.

I’ve had one hell of a week…

Like all contest preps, I experience an entire mental and emotional rollercoaster. I go from happy to sad to angry to tired to straight-up idiot…usually spread out over the weeks, sometimes within a few minutes. This time it occurred over a few days…

It all started on Thursday when – angry and frustrated with the intense pain in my collarbone – I went to the doctor thinking that perhaps I had cracked it or something. Turns out my sternoclavicular joint is just inflamed. And it hurts like crazy! I can’t lift my arm above my head or across my body, which means no upper body workouts (*tear*) and I look like an idiot trying to get in and out of my clothes. The doctor told me to take 3-4 weeks off. I laughed. He did not. I said I would compromise. I’d take a week off and go to physio. So now I’m on a steady diet of cardio and leg workouts [insert resounding BOOOOO here]. Definitely throws a wrench into my grand plans to TOTALLY ROCK, but sometimes you just gotta make a new path to get there.

Then yesterday, I headed to Prince for a course scheduled to start at 6:00 p.m. I had spent Thursday evening prepping food so that I would have enough to get me through the entire weekend. Then I left it all in my fridge. Bah, stupidity. I could have cried (trust me, it crossed my mind), but I managed to problem solve, picking up an electric skillet and some more fish. On the bright side, when I get home late on Sunday night, I’ll have food in my fridge.

image-2

You gotta do what you gotta do.  Cooking fish in my hotel room…

The stupidity continued during my cardio this morning. The fitness room in my hotel didn’t open until 6:00 so I went for a run instead. As I was running, I saw this sign:

image-1

I thought, Oh my gosh, I KNOW!

Then I realized it said “bait cars,” not “bait CARBS.”

Bahahahaha.

I am slowly losing my mind.  Wish me luck, I’ve still got 6 more weeks of this to go!

 

 

~ by yomisskang on May 29, 2016.

2 Responses to “When life gives you lemons, go do (another) leg workout.”

  1. Good luck!! You’ll rock it!! Did he give you diclofenac gel at least??

Leave a Reply

 
