Ask and You Shall Receive…

I get asked a lot of questions when I’m at the gym…most of them are about how to use equipment, how to modify exercises, and the like, but occasionally I get one that make me realize that most people have no idea how much time, energy, and discipline goes into competitive fitness and body building. Each person is gifted with different genetics so training and diet varies between individuals. Some people gain muscle quickly (that’s me!), others can shred quicky (NOT me!), and still others don’t get either one of these gifts and are frustrated by their lack of progress on some ridiculous cookie-cutter workout plan.

But that’s a whole other blog rant.

In any case, I thought I’d share some of my favourite questions that I get at the gym…

  1. How do you get muscles like that? I work out. All the time. And I eat properly. But I’m smart about it. Well, my trainer is smart. And then I just listen to her. Because she knows her shit. And because I pay her money. And since I’m cheap, it’s important to me that I’ve spent that money wisely. Did I mention she knows her shit?
  1. Do you really eat pizza? I have a workout tank that reads, “Powered by Pizza.” I like it because it’s ironic. (Does that make me a hipster? Oh my gosh, so much to think about.) But I digress. Yes. I eat pizza. It’s one of my go-to cheats. It’s delicious. I would live off of pizza if I could. However, the answer is no, I did not “get muscles like that” by eating pizza.  I wish.
  1. When is your next competition? This is a legitimate question. With planning and luck, I will be competing in BC’s 2016 next July. It’s the look of shock that I get afterwards that makes me chuckle on the inside. Sometimes I think that competing has become a little “fad-like”…some people think that competitors get up in the morning and say, “Oh, I feel like doing a show today.” They think training for a show is easy. WRONG. It’s a lot of freaking work. I get to do about 20 minutes of cardio right now. It’s delightful. It can be done during an episode of Cake Boss. (Initially the cake looks good, but after looking at cake for 20 min, I feel sick…it actually helps me stick to my diet.) Closer to stage time, that can increase to 60 min…90 min…more… It’s gross. And depressing. And exhausting. And that doesn’t even include the weight training on top of that. But at the end, it is rewarding. The hard work is definitely worth the pay-off.

These questions definitely serve as a reminder that everyone is at a different place in their fitness journey. We don’t get up knowing everything and asking questions is how we learn. I may have a good chuckle at some of them…I may look at you like you’re crazy (I apologize…my poker face is terrible)…but at the end of the day, I appreciate that people trust my opinion enough to ask and learn!

~ by yomisskang on October 1, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
