So long, but not goodbye, to a couple of true friends…

On this day, 16 weeks out, my world experienced a tragic loss: the peaceful passing of fruit and dairy from my daily diet into a black hole of nothingness otherwise known as the garbage can.  With this loss, it seems a walk down memory lane is in order.

When I was just a wee gaffer, my mother, who apparently had too much time on her hands, created my nutritious meals in the form of artistic displays.  These dishes typically included apple or tomato boats with cheese sails.  Thus began my love affair, not only with dairy and fruit as separate entities, but with the fascinating combinations (and structures) that can be formed with my food.

In particular, cheese has played an important role in my life.  As a child, I put cheese on everything that my mother would allow.  At the time processed cheese slices and Cheez Whiz – yes, I now realize that neither one of these can truly be considered cheese – covered everything from toast and bagels to veggies and pancakes.  Yes, pancakes.  Surprisingly delicious.  It is true: with cheese, you’ve got choice.

Now as July comes to a close and August drives forth, not only will I be mourning the loss of cheese, but also summer delicacies: berries, cherries, peaches, watermelon, ICE CREAM!  The grieving process will be long (16 weeks to be exact).  Each day brings with it the possibility of sadness and tears, but there will always be pleasant memories of what real food tastes like.  Farewell fruit and dairy.  See you in 16 weeks…

~ by yomisskang on July 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
